Mark Rothko

12 march to 30 June 2019

Kunsthistorisches Museum presents for the first time in Austria an exhibition dedicated to the great American artist, Mark Rothko. Together with his contemporaries, Jackson Pollock, Barnett Newman, and Willem de Kooning, Rothko was one of the Abstract Expressionists, whose works made New York a centre of modern art. Rothko undertook three extensive trips to Europe, visiting as many churches, architectural monuments, and museums as he could. Art and architecture of the recent and more distant past are a vigorous presence in his work. Our exhibition presents an overview of Rothko’s artistic career from the early figurative works of the 1930s to those of the 1940s, and the classical abstract paintings of the 1950s and 1960s that made him famous.

Exhibition view, Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien

Mark Rothko

12 MARCH TO 30 JUNE 2019

Tue–Sun, 10 a.m.–6 p.m.
Thu, 10 a.m.–9 p.m.

Admission till half an hour before closing time!
June to August open daily

Get your Ticket*

* Ticket Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien


A brief

biography

Mark Rothko was born on 25 September 1903 as Marcus Rotkovich in the Russian town of Dvinsk (today Daugavpils in Latvia). In 1913 his family left for Portland, Oregon. He broke off his studies in Yale and moved to New York in 1925.

A friend invited Rothko to drawing classes and soon after he joined the Art Students League. In 1929 he began to give art instruction for children at the art academy of the Brooklyn Jewish Center, a Jewish educational and cultural institution. In 1932 he married Edith Sachar, and in the winter of 1933 opened his first one-man show at the Contemporary Arts Gallery in New York. Shortly thereafter, together with a number of friends he established the group of artists known as “The Ten”, which existed until 1939. In 1936 Rothko was accepted by the Works Progress Administration (WPA), a government program intended to create jobs during the Great Depression.

From about 1936 he worked on a manuscript, The Artist's Reality, which contains philosophical observations on art; the work was published posthumously.

In 1945 he married his second wife, Mell Beistle, and established a group of Abstract Expressionists together with artists such as Jackson Pollock, Barnett Newman, Willem de Kooning, and Clyfford Still. The group’s new and radical works made New York the epicentre of contemporary art.

Rothko’s decisive breakthrough came in 1949. He painted his first classic compositions for which he was to become world-famous. In 1950 he set off on the first of four trips to Europe; the same year saw the birth of his daughter, Kate.

In 1954 his first major solo exhibition opened at the Art Institute of Chicago. In the years 1958 and 1959 he worked on three important commissions: a series of large-format canvases for the Seagram Building in New York, several murals for Harvard University, as well as a cycle of monumental paintings for a chapel in Houston, Texas, which is known today as the Rothko Chapel. In 1963 Rothko’s son Christopher was born. Following several severe illnesses Rothko took his own life in February 1970.


Rothko's journeys

to art

image/svg+xml

… I feel like staying put here somewhere for a month or two and making again these things which I am sure few here could have a feeling for: I never realized how really new our world is until I came here... I feel as if I were in the theatre. What is attractive here is the crumbling, monstrous and picturesque. I am still looking for the fabulous which they say I will find in Italy.

Rothko during his stay at the Côte d’Azur in a letter to the New York based Sculptor Richard Lippold

March 1950
5 months

Mark and Mell

France, Italy, Great Britain
Cherbourg, Paris, Chartres, Cagnes-sur-Mer, Venice, Florence, Arezzo, Siena, Rome, Paris, London

June 1959
2 months

Mark, Mell and Kate

Italy, France, Belgium, Netherlands, Great Britain
Napels, Paestum, Pompeji, Rome, Tarquinia, Venice, Torcello, Paris, Brussels. Antwerp, Amsterdam, London, Somerset, Cornwall, Southampton

June 1966
2.5 months

Mark, Mell, Kate and Christopher

Italy, France, Great Britain
Rome, Spoleto, Assisi, Arezzo, Florence, Paris, to London by train 


The Early Works

1933–1940

The real essence of the great portraiture of all time is the artist’s eternal interest in the human figure, character and emotions – in short, in the human drama. That Rembrandt expressed it by posing a sitter is irrelevant. We do not know the sitter but we are intensely aware of the drama.

Rothko on the Exhibition “The Art of Rembrandt” (1942, Metropolitan Museum New York) 

Starting in the 1920s Mark Rothko spent a great deal of time in New York’s Metropolitan Museum. At the same time he joined the Art Students League, an organization of art students who took a sceptical view of academic training. Rembrandt’s work had a central place in Rothko’s interest. In particular, a 1659 self-portrait of the Dutch master in the National Gallery in Washington engaged his attention.

Rothko first saw the original of Vermeer’s The Art of Painting in the 1950s. He worked on the basis of a reproduction citing the blue dress and the window by which the young woman stands. He altered style, context, and pose. Rothko’s Mary holds her hand as though pregnant. The curtain, all the decorations, as well as the painter and his easel vanish however. The space and the protagonist appear flat and abstracted.

In the late 1930s Rothko took the New York subways as his favourite subject. Passengers stand isolated on the platform, or descend the stairs; they are slender figures in an anonymous environment. The viewer is reminded of the sculptures of Alberto Giacometti, or the aesthetic of Giorgio de Chirico, who were both Rothko’s contemporaries.

Music, perhaps my father’s first love, provides a case in point supporting this view. [that the center of Rothko’s character is to be located in the European culture of his youth rather than in the American landscape of his maturity]. While Charlie Parker’s improvizations carromed off the walls of Pollock’s and de Kooning’s studios, and even Mondrian was shaking to his own Broadway Boogie Woogie, Rothko’s heart beat to the Classical and early Romantic music of Vienna: Mozart, Haydn, Schubert, and a good deal more Mozart. Once he could afford a record player (quite a bit later than you might think), Die Zauberflöte and the Clarinet Quintet repeatedly papered the walls of his studio.

Christopher Rothko about his father

Image 1: Playbill “The Magic Flute”, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, 4.1.1802, Premiere Theater an der Wien, Vienna;
Image 2: The young Schubert, Austria, Early 19th century, Collection of Historic Musical Instruments, KHM-Museumsverband


Mythical and Surrealist Works

1941–1946

In a decade marked by global conflicts Rothko’s style became less realistic and more symbolic. Religious and mythological themes appear. We show here The Last Supper. Rothko condensed characteristics of probably the most famous representation of a key episode of the New Testament: Leonardo da Vinci’s Last Supper in Milan. The two pictures although fundamentally different have in common the central perspective, opposed positions of the figures’ heads, and windows in the background. 


Multiforms

1946–1948

I think of my pictures as dramas; the shapes in the pictures are the performers.

Mark Rothko, 1947

From Realism to Abstraction: Starting in 1947 Rothko exhibited his paintings unframed with the aim of creating a more direct and confrontational relationship with the viewer, an effect which he heightened further by the larger dimensions of his works. He also largely did without customary descriptive titles, preferring instead to number or leave them untitled.


Early classic works

1949–1956

Since my pictures are large, colorful and unframed, and since museum walls are usually immense and formidable, there is the danger that the pictures relate themselves as decorative areas to the walls. This would be a distortion of their meaning, since the pictures are intimate and intense, and are the opposite of what is decorative.

Letter to Katharina Kuh, September 25th, 1954

The picture was painted in the year of his first major exhibition at the Art Institute of Chicago in 1954. Rothko now employed not just colour, but also explicitly the size of pictures to intensify their emotional impact.

In 1956/57 Rothko painted a series of works with broad white fields. Surrounded by darker colours and under the bright lighting which Rothko then prescribed for his works, these areas appeared to light up almost like a projection. In this painting the white bar in the lower area of the canvas is complemented by a somewhat larger, dark brown bar in the upper area.

I’m interested only in expressing basic human emotions – tragedy, ecstasy, doom and so on – and the fact that lots of people break down and cry when confronted with my pictures shows that I communicate those basic human emotions (…) The people who weep before my pictures are having the same religious experience I had when I painted them. And if you, as you say, are moved only by their color relationships, then you miss the point!

Rothko in a conversation with the poet and critic Selden Rodman


The Seagram Murals

1958/60

In 1958 the architect Phillip Johnson invited Rothko to create a series of large format paintings for the Four Seasons Restaurant in New York. The restaurant was located in the famous Seagram Building on Park Avenue, which had been built by Mies van der Rohe and Philip Johnson for the Bronfman family, heirs to a gin fortune. Rothko undertook the commission and received a substantial advance. He began work on the paintings in a former gymnasium in New York’s Bowery district.

My current pictures are involved with the scale of human feelings the human drama, as much of it as I can express.

Mark Rothko, Pratt Institute, 1958

When I returned, I looked again at my paintings and then visited the premises for which they were destined. It seemed clear to me at once that the two were not for each other. I informed the patrons that I could not deliver the pictures and the matter was terminated just a few days ago.

Summer 1959: Rothko to his English host William Scott

Rothko was appalled by the ostentatious character of the room. “Anybody who will eat that kind of food for those kind of prices will never look at a painting of mine”. He returned the advance and kept the paintings which he had executed over the previous two years.

Today, the Seagram murals hang in galleries of their own at the Tate Modern in London, Kawamura Memorial Museum of Art in Japan, and the National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. 


Late classic works

1960–1970

After withdrawing from the Seagram commission, Rothko executed a series of large-scale murals for Harvard University. He also worked with the collectors Jean and Dominique de Menil and architect Philip Johnson on a project in Houston, Texas, which came to be known as the Rothko Chapel; this is regarded as the peak of his artistic career.

Mark Rothko

12. März bis 30. Juni 2019

Zum ersten Mal in Österreich präsentiert das Kunsthistorische Museum eine Ausstellung des großen amerikanischen Künstlers Mark Rothko. Gemeinsam mit seinen Zeitgenossen Jackson Pollock, Barnett Newman und Willem de Kooning wurde er zu einem der Hauptvertreter der „Abstract Expressionists“, deren Arbeiten dafür sorgten, dass New York zum Zentrum moderner Kunst wurde. Im Laufe seines Lebens unternahm Mark Rothko vier ausgedehnte Reisen nach Europa, auf denen er so viele Kirchen, Architekturdenkmäler und Museen wie möglich besuchte. Kunst und Architektur der jüngeren und älteren Vergangenheit schwingen in seinen Arbeiten kraftvoll mit. Unsere Ausstellung präsentiert einen Überblick über Rothkos Karriere: von den frühen figurativen Werken der 1930er Jahre, über die Arbeiten der 1940er Jahre bis zu den klassisch abstrakten Werken der 1950er und 1960er Jahre, mit denen er schließlich berühmt wurde.

Drei von Mark Rothkos Seagram Murals in Saal 2 des Kunsthistorischen Museums Wien

Mark Rothko

12. MÄRZ BIS 30. JUNI 2019

Di–So, 10–18 Uhr
Do, 10–21 Uhr

Einlass ist jeweils bis eine halbe Stunde vor Schließzeit!
Juni bis August täglich geöffnet

Ticket kaufen*

* Eintrittskarte Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien


Eine kurze

Biografie

Mark Rothko wird am 25. September 1903 als Marcus Rotkovich im russischen Dwinsk (heute Daugavpils, Lettland) geboren. 1913 wandert die Familie nach Portland, Oregon aus. Ein in Yale begonnenes Studium bricht er ohne Abschluss ab und zieht 1925 nach New York.

Ein Freund lädt ihn zu Zeichenkursen ein, Rothko tritt wenig später der Art Students League bei. 1929 beginnt er an der Kunstakademie des Brooklyn Jewish Center, einem jüdischen Bildungs- und Kulturzentrum, Kunstunterricht für Kinder zu geben. 1932 heiratet er Edith Sachar, im Winter 1933 eröffnet seine erste Einzelausstellung in der Contemporary Arts Gallery, New York. Kurz darauf gründet er mit mehreren Freunden die Künstlergruppe The Ten, die bis 1939 bestehen sollte. 1936 wird Rothko in die Works Progress Administration (WPA) aufgenommen, eine Initiative der Regierung, die zu Zeiten der Great Depression Arbeitsplätze schaffen soll.

Ab etwa 1936 schreibt er an einem erst posthum als Die Wirklichkeit des Künstlers veröffentlichten Manuskript mit philosophischen Betrachtungen zur Kunst.

1945 heiratet er seine zweite Frau Mell Beistle und bildet mit Künstlern wie Jackson Pollock, Barnett Newman, Willen de Kooning und Clyfford Still eine Gruppe Abstrakter Expressionisten, deren radikal neue Arbeiten New York zum Epizentrum zeitgenössischer Kunst machen.

Rothkos endgültiger Durchbruch gelingt im Jahr 1949: Er malt die ersten seiner klassischen Kompositionen, für die er weltberühmt werden sollte. 1950 bricht er zu seiner ersten von insgesamt vier Reisen nach Europa auf, im gleichen Jahr wird seine Tochter Kate geboren.

Im Jahr 1954 wird seine erste große Einzelausstellung im Art Institute of Chicago eröffnet, von 1958 bis 1959 arbeitet er an drei Großaufträgen: einer Serie großformatiger Leinwände für das Seagram Building in New York, mehreren Wandgemälden für die Universität Harvard sowie an einem Zyklus monumentaler Gemälde für eine Kapelle in Houston, Texas, heute bekannt als Rothko Chapel. 1963 kommt sein Sohn Christopher zur Welt. Nach mehreren schweren Krankheiten nimmt sich Rothko im Februar 1970 das Leben.


Rothkos Reisen

zur Kunst

image/svg+xml

… ich war mir nie bewusst, wie komplett neu unsere Welt ist, bevor ich hierher gekommen bin ... ich fühle mich als wären wir hier im Theater. Besonders reizvoll ist hier das Zerbröckelnde, das Monströse und das Malerische. Ich suche immer noch nach dem Fabelhaften. Man hat mir gesagt, dass ich es in Italien finden werde.

Rothko im Juni 1950 während eines Aufenthaltes an der Côte d’Azur an den New Yorker Bildhauer Richard Lippold

März 1950
Dauer: 5 Monate

Mark und Mell

Frankreich, Italien, Großbritannien
Cherbourg, Paris, Chartres, Cagnes-sur-Mer, Venedig, Florenz, Arezzo, Siena, Rom, Paris, London

Juni 1959 
Dauer: 2 Monate

Mark, Mell und Kate 

Italien, Frankreich, Belgien, Niederlande, Großbritannien
Neapel, Paestum, Pompeji, Rom, Tarquinia, Venedig, Torcello, Paris, Brüssel, Antwerpen, Amsterdam, London, Somerset, Cornwall, Southampton
 

Juni 1966
Dauer: 2,5 Monate

Mark, Mell, Kate, Christopher

Italien, Frankreich, Großbritannien
Rom, Spoleto, Assisi, Arezzo, Florenz, Paris, mit dem Zug nach London


Early Works

1933–1940

Die wahre Essenz der großen und zeitlosen Porträtmalerei ist das fortwährende Interesse des Künstlers an der menschlichen Figur, ihrem Charakter und ihren Gefühlen – kurz am menschlichen Drama. Dass Rembrandt es ausdrückte, indem er ein Modell in Position stellte, ist irrelevant. Wir kennen das Modell nicht, aber wir spüren das Drama.

Rothko über die Ausstellung "The Art of Rembrandt" (1942, Metropolitan Museum New York)

Seit den 1920er Jahren hatte Mark Rothko viel Zeit im New Yorker Metropolitan Museum of Art verbracht. Gleichzeitig war er der Art Students League beigetreten, einer Verbindung von Kunststudenten, die akademischer Bildung skeptisch gegenüberstanden. Rembrandts Werke standen im Mittelpunkt seines persönlichen Interesses. Hier bezieht er sich unter anderem auf ein Selbstporträt des Holländers aus dem Jahr 1659, das die Washingtoner National Gallery besitzt.

Rothko sah Vermeers Die Malkunst erst in den 1950er Jahren im Original – für sein Gemälde Portrait of Mary arbeitete er auf Basis einer Reproduktion: Rothko zitiert das blaue Kleid und das Fenster, an dem die junge Frau steht. Er verändert Stil, den größeren Zusammenhang und die Pose: Rothkos Mary hält die Hand nun als wäre sie schwanger, der Vorhang, alle Dekoration und der Maler samt Staffelei sind verschwunden. Raum und Protagonistin wirken flächig und abstrahiert.

In den späten 1930er Jahren machte Rothko die New Yorker U-Bahn zu seinem bevorzugten Sujet:  Passagiere stehen am Bahnsteig oder gehen Stiegen hinunter, es sind schlanke Gestalten in anonymer Umgebung. Man darf sich an die Skulpturen Alberto Giacomettis oder auch die Ästhetik Giorgio de Chiricos – beide waren Zeitgenossen Rothkos, – erinnert fühlen.

Die Musik, die vielleicht die erste Liebe meines Vaters war, unterstützt diese Ansicht [dass der Mittelpunkt von Rothkos Charakter in der europäischen Kultur seiner Jugend und nicht in der amerikanischen Landschaft seiner Reife lag]. Während Charlie Parkers Improvisationen die Wände der Studios von Pollock und de Kooning erschütterten und sogar Mondrian zu seinem eigenen Broadway Boogie-Woogie tanzte, so schlug Rothkos Herz für die klassische und frühromantische Musik Wiens: Mozart, Haydn, Schubert und nochmals Mozart. Sobald er sich einen Plattenspieler leisten konnte (was viel später war, als Sie jetzt vielleicht denken), ließen die Zauberflöte und das Klarinettenquintett immer wieder die Wände seines Ateliers schwingen.

Christopher Rothko über seinen Vater

Bild 1: Theaterzettel „Zauberflöte“, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, 4.1.1802, Erstaufführung im Theater an der Wien, Theatermuseum Wien; Bild 2: Der junge Schubert, Österreich, Anfang 19. Jahrhundert, Sammlung Alter Musikinstrumente


Mythical and Surrealist Works

1941–1946

In einem Jahrzehnt schwerer globaler Konflikte wurde der Stil Rothkos symbolischer, weniger realistisch. Religiöse und mythologische Themen halten Einzug. Wir zeigen hier A Last Supper. Rothko verdichtet Charakteristika der wohl berühmtesten Darstellung der neutestamentarischen Schlüsselszene: Leonardo da Vincis Abendmahl in Mailand: Gemeinsam sind den beiden so fundamental unterschiedlichen Bildern die zentralperspektivische Sicht auf die Szene, die gegenläufigen Kopfhaltungen der Figuren und die Fensteröffnungen im Hintergrund.


Multiforms

1946–1948

Für mich sind meine Bilder Dramen und die Formen in den Bildern sind die Darsteller.

Mark Rothko, 1947

Wandel vom Realismus zur Abstraktion: Rothko stellte seine Werke ab 1947 ohne Rahmen aus, um so eine unmittelbarere und konfrontativere Beziehung zum Betrachter herzustellen, die er durch die zunehmende Größe seiner Werke weiter intensivierte. Er verzichtete auch weitgehend auf herkömmliche beschreibende Titel für seine Werke und zog es nun vor, sie zu nummerieren oder unbetitelt zu lassen.


Early Classic Works

1949–1956

Da meine Bilder groß, farbenfreudig und ungerahmt sind und da die Wände in Museen gewöhnlich riesig und überwältigend sind, besteht die Gefahr, dass meine Bilder als dekorative Flächen zu den Wänden in Beziehung treten. Das wäre eine Verzerrung ihrer Bedeutung, da die Bilder intim und intensiv sind, das reine Gegenteil dessen, was dekorativ ist …

Brief an Katharine Kuh, 25. September 1954

Das Bild entstand im Jahr seiner ersten großen Ausstellung im Art Institute Chicago 1954. Jetzt nutzte Rothko neben der Farbe auch explizit die Größe der Bilder um ihre emotionale Wirkung zu steigern.

In den Jahren 1956/57 malte Rothko eine Reihe von Werken mit dichten weißen Feldern. Umgeben von dunkleren Farben würden diese Bereiche bei den hellen Lichtbedingungen, die Rothko damals für seine Arbeiten vorgab, fast wie eine Projektion aufleuchten. In diesem Gemälde wird der weiße Balken im unteren Bereich durch einen etwas größeren, dunkelbraunen Balken im oberen Bereich ergänzt.

Ich bin nur daran interessiert, grundlegende menschliche Gefühle auszudrücken – Tragödien, Ekstase, Untergang usw. – und die Tatsache, dass viele Menschen zusammenbrechen und weinen, wenn sie meinen Bildern gegenüberstehen, zeigt, dass ich diese grundlegenden menschlichen Gefühle kommunizieren konnte … Vor meinen Bildern machen sie die gleiche religiöse Erfahrung, die ich machte, als ich sie malte. Und wenn Sie, wie Sie sagen, nur durch ihre Farbverhältnisse bewegt werden, dann haben Sie das Wesentliche nicht gesehen!

Rothko in einem Gespräch mit dem Dichter und Kritiker Selden Rodman


The Seagram Murals

1958/60

Der Architekt Phillip Johnson lud Rothko im Jahr 1958 ein, eine Serie großformatiger Gemälde für das Four Seasons Restaurant in New York zu produzieren. Das Restaurant befand sich in dem berühmten Seagram-Gebäude an der Park Avenue, das von den Mies van der Rohe für die Bronfman-Familie, Erben eines Gin-Vermögens, entworfen worden war. Rothko nahm den Auftrag an, erhielt einen großen finanziellen Vorschuss und begann in einer ehemaligen Turnhalle auf der Bowery in Manhattan mit der Arbeit an den Gemälden.

Meine derzeitigen Bilder befassen sich mit der Größenordnung menschlicher Gefühle, mit dem menschlichen Drama, so viel ich davon ausdrücken kann.

Mark Rothko, Vortrag am Pratt Institute, 1958

Als ich von meinen Reisen zurückgekehrt war, habe ich mir die Bilder erneut angesehen und dann auch den Ort besucht, für den sie gedacht waren. Ich sagte den Mäzenen Bescheid, dass ich die Bilder nicht würde abliefern können und so wurde die Angelegenheit vor ein paar Tagen beendet.

Rothko im Sommer 1959 an seinen englischen Gastgeber William Scott

Rothko war entsetzt über den prunkvollen Charakter des Four Seasons Restaurants. »Jeder, der diese Art von Essen zu sich nimmt um diese Preise, wird nie auch nur ein Bild von mir registrieren.« Er gab den Honorarvorschuss zurück und behielt die Gemälde, die er in den letzten zwei Jahren gefertigt hatte.

Die Seagram Murals sind heute in eigenen Räumen in der Tate Modern in London, im Kawamura Memorial Museum of Art in Japan und in der National Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C. ausgestellt.


Late Classic Works

1960–1970

Nach dem Rücktritt vom Seagram-Auftrag schuf Rothko eine Serie großformatiger Wandgemälde für die Harvard Universität und arbeitete mit den Sammlern Jean und Dominique de Menil sowie dem Architekten Philip Johnson an einem Projekt in Houston, Texas, das später als die Rothko Chapel bekannt werden sollte. Sie gilt als Höhepunkt seiner künstlerischen Karriere.